Uncategorized

Hello!

Hi. My name’s Maren and this is my brand new little blog.

img_3498

In October my husband and I bought our dream house. It’s a little green house sitting on 1.8 acres in a beautiful town outside of Chico, CA. Our land is filled with established garden beds, fruit trees, wild blackberries, black oaks, big pines and a tiny little creek.

img_4209

We moved out here to the boonies because we were tired of the hustle and bustle of the big city. Mr. Wise was commuting almost 3 hours a day and we were both miserable.

We’ve loved living out here every single minute and I can’t believe we ever thought living anyplace else was a good idea. I wish I’d have spent the last 5 years out here, seriously.

When we were searching for our perfect house having L-A-N-D was a top priority. I have big plans for huge gardens; floral and vegetable. I desperately wanted my own flock of chickens. I wanted to expand my soap making hobby… I like the idea of producing what you need rather than buying it and finding ways to make things you use every day.

Okay… back to the moving. Buying a house in October didn’t allow for my garden dreams to immediately come true. Sigh, yes patience is a virtue! I did completely clear three giant areas, which will be used for vegetables and herbs in the spring. But I was feeling a little antsy to get my hands diy dirty. So, after reading a very convincing article on the benefits of brooding chicks in the fall…

I ordered 3 day old chicks from a hatchery in Ohio, delivered on election day. November 7th! Am I crazy?! Maybe. But I’m having way to much fun to care.

The day Mr. Donald Trump was elected the 45th president of the United States I started our little farm. It consists of June Carter the Easter Egger, Olive the Blue Andalusian and Cora the Buckeye.

img_4057

Our dog Chloe, was mesmerized by chicken nugget dreams like, instantly!

Anyways, I thought I’d start this little blog to chronicle our new life filled with hobbies, trials and errors, adventures in gardening. I hope to find a place to start making soap this spring. I can’t wait to see where all of it takes me.

-Maren

Leave a Reply

